WWW Wednesday #17

Hello everyone! It’s time for another WWW Wednesday 🙂

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam@ Taking on a World of Words.

To participate, all you have to do is answer the following questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


What are you currently reading?

28954189

 

Thou shalt kill.
A world with no hunger, no disease, no war, no misery. Humanity has conquered all those things, and has even conquered death. Now scythes are the only ones who can end life—and they are commanded to do so, in order to keep the size of the population under control.

Citra and Rowan are chosen to apprentice to a scythe—a role that neither wants. These teens must master the “art” of taking life, knowing that the consequence of failure could mean losing their own.

 

 

Scythe by Neal Shusterman

I finally got this book on Overdrive and I am so excited to read it! I am actually going to start it as soon as I finish writing this post. I read Unwind a few years ago and remember thinking how original it was. This concept certainly sounds unique as well! Have any of you read Scythe?

 

 

 

 

What did you recently finish reading?

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken 3.5★

While this was definitely a good book, it took me a bit longer to get through because it was a little dense in the sense that there were so many extra, unnecessary details. I did enjoy the story and absolutely loved the time travel aspect, but sometimes I felt as if I could skip paragraphs and still know exactly what was going on. That being said, I am intrigued enough to read Wayfarer and I really enjoyed seeing all of the different time periods portrayed throughout the story.

Frozen Tides (Falling Kingdoms #4) by Morgan Rhodes 4★

Ahh!! This series is so great!!! I loved it just as much as all of the others. I’m so happy I can officially ship Magnus and Cleo even though they were still pretty terrible to each other throughout this book as well. I can’t wait to get my hands on Crystal Storm.

[ARC] It Started with Goodbye by Christina June (Publishing Date: May 9, 2017) 3★

This book was cute.  I have to admit- I ended up enjoying it much more than I thought I would. The story is a modern day Cinderella retelling and I thought the author laid it on a bit thick in the beginning with mentions of “fairy godmothers” and an absurdly strict stepmother. That being said, the last half of the book definitely redeemed itself and I would say this book is worth a read if you are looking for a cute contemporary.

 

 

What do you think you’ll read next?

 

30653853

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love. No matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. If Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s a chubby Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him.

Right?

 

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

This beauty showed up on my doorstep yesterday! I would have started reading it immediately but I just got Scythe at the library and library books have to take priority. I’m sure I will fly through this book though- I absolutely loved Simon and really enjoy Albertalli’s writing.

 

21 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #17”

    1. It’s really great so far! I’m a huge fan of Schusterman’s writing- I don’t know what it is but it makes me feel so happy and engaged in the story. As for Passenger, I definitely still recommend it. The story was great, and the time traveling was well-done. Can’t wait to see you opinions on it!

      Like

  1. I really want to read Scythe, it sounds so good! I can’t wait to see what you think about it. I love Magnus and Cleo. I ship them so hard! I always did even at the beginning, haha. I can’t wait until I get my hands on my copy of The Upside. I think it’s being delivered next week. Crossing my fingers it comes early though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like Scythe so far! I don’t know if you’ve read Unwind, but that book is also very good. I LOVE Magnus and Cleo. I was honestly a little annoyed with this book because I was like you already kissed just be together already!! But the ending made up for it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been SOOOOO interested in reading Scythe! I’ve never read anything by Schusterman but have heard plenty of good about his world building & uniqueness. OMYGOSh you sped through the Falling Kingdom books! you seriously always motivate me with this series lol. I have Passenger & I got it because TIME TRAVEL! who deoesn’t wanna read about that but the reviews all mention pacing as an issue. i hope Wayferer remedies that 😉 I also have It Started With Goodbye as a fulfilled wish on Netgalley lol. The main draw was the diversity with Started With Goodbye, hoping to like it. I’m LOVING Upside, hope you get to it soon <3! 🙂

    P.S. I hear there is a mini Simon cameo in Upside & I'm really kicking myself for not reading Simon 1st! LOl

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Its really great so far! I remember reading Unwind years ago and absolutely loving it as well. And yes!! I am loving Falling Kingdoms!! I was enjoying binging so I am sad that I am nearing the end of published books :O

      It Started with Goodbye was a solid read..but at the beginning when she would say things like “It was almost like I was in a fairy tale” or “I felt like I had a fairy godmother” I was like…aren’t you laying it on a bit thick?? Haha. It did end up being a cute story though and there was a fair amount of diversity. I can’t WAIT to get to Upside. I hear Simon makes a cameo?!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ah the downside of the BINGE! Catching up LOL! I’m looking forward to it 😉 & I can def see how that would come off as laying it on a bit thick haha! I like my re-tellings to have similarities but chill with the cheesy lines LOL! Simon makes a brief cameo, yes…gosh i need to reach that book! Upside is too cute 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved Unwind as well although I somehow never picked up the sequels… Scythe sounds SO good! I hope you will enjoy it. And I definitely need to get a copy of the new Albertalli title as soon as I can. I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi there! I never normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

    1. Aw, thank you SO SO much. I really appreciate that 🙂 I’ve come a long way since I started blogging but I am still learning all the ins and outs of the blog world! Thanks for the follow, I also followed you- you seem to read a lot of books that I enjoy.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww you are so welcome! You have a wonderful blog. Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I just made accounts and would love to follow you! And thank you so much!! (:

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment