Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas (ACOTAR #3)

23766634

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.


 

Wow, okay. So how do I talk about my most-anticipated release of the year? I devoured it in a matter of days and loved every second of it. My rating of five stars was due purely to my enjoyment of the story, but it is not without its flaws. I was able to overlook them because mainly I am a huge fangirl who has been waiting for this book for a year.

I don’t need to say much about the plot- We start with Feyre as a spy in the Spring Court and she is sneaky! She had some typical Sarah J. Maas style plans reminiscent of a certain assassin. You know what I’m talking about, when the reader has no idea what is going on until the main character finally explains her brilliant plan? Yeah, a lot of that in the Spring Court. Anyway, Feyre is a more vengeful than I’ve seen her in the past but I enjoyed it. Lucien was also a pleasant surprise! I knew something had to happen with his character I like the direction she is taking it. I have a feeling he will probably be in the new series?

In terms of the rest of the plot, Feyre and her Night Court team are gearing up for a war against Hybern. It’s honestly a lot of the same plot points we saw in ACOMAF- we see characters like the Weaver, the Bone Carver, more of the different courts. Nesta and Elaine play a larger role in this book as well, and Nesta is still as fiery as ever. I honestly didn’t like her for most of the book, I wanted her to lighten up a bit. You get PLENTY of Feyre and Rhys time (thank god) and while some of the sex scenes were a little…dramatic I still love their relationship and their interactions with each other.

I was satisfied with the ending of the story, although I was sad to see it wrap up. I wouldn’t have wanted it to end any other way but I am sad to say goodbye to these characters. If you have enjoyed the series up to this point, you will definitely enjoy ACOWAR. Since so many people have read this book already, I wanted to include a quick spoiler discussion because I really want to talk about my predictions for the new series set in the ACOTAR world. Everything from this point on IS A SPOILER.

 

You were warned….

 

The first characters I wanted to talk about are Elaine and Nesta. I was actually very happy that SJ Maas didn’t pair them up and live happily ever after with their mates. Although I think it might be going in that direction, we still have a lot of development before we get there. One thing I noticed is that despite Lucien being Elaine’s mate…Elaine and Azriel certainly have a special connection and Feyre even brings up rejecting the mating bond. Although I love Lucien…what does everyone think?

Also Nesta and Cassian…I NEED more of them. Nesta may seem stone-cold but she obviously has a heart in there somewhere and the last scene when she covered Cassian’s body with her own was pretty touching.

I wanted to say something about Tamlin! I actually really really liked where his character went in this book. I don’t like Tamlin, but I think I understand him better now. Basically, he was jealous and jealousy causes you to do some crazy and irrational things. He did have a redeeming moment when he saved Feyre’s life and while he’s still not a very likable guy…I felt closure between them.
Finally, I don’t have much to say about Feyre and Rhys except that I love them and they will be my favorite fantasy couple forever. I adored this book and will probably be re-reading the series again and again.

 

5/5★

 

sig

Leave a Reply

