Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


Initial thoughts: A short, cute story of a girl learning to live and fall in love. I would recommend it solely because it was so short and the mixed media was highly enjoyable. My critiques is that it was unrealistic and ultimately forgettable.

This is my second book by Nicola Yoon and while it was cute, I much prefer Yoon’s other book, The Sun is Also a Star (here is my review if you’re curious 🙂 ). Everything Everything is a story about Maddy who has a disease called SCID. Basically, she is allergic to the world. This causes her to be confined to her house for her entire 17 years of life. Her only companions are Carla, her nurse, and her overprotective mother who quite frankly, creeped me out. There is a difference between caring for your child and becoming completely obsessive and Maddy’s mother crossed that line multiple times.

Maddy seems pretty satisfied with her life, although it is clearly sheltered. This changes when Olly moves in next door. Cute Olly with a penchant for parkouring developed a relationship with Maddy mostly via email and instant messaging. While I sometimes doubted how realistic Olly was as a love interests (he was very mature and insightful for a 16-year old boy) their relationship was cute to watch.

As I’m sure you can guess, Maddy starts to wonder what her life would be like if she were allowed outside- queue the increased arguments with mom and acts of rebellion. Although it was predictable, this didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the story. Maddy was a likable character although she was unrealistically aware of the world around her for being confined for her entire life.

The mixed media in this book was absolutely the highlight of the story. There were pictures, lists, snapshots of emails and it enhanced the story. I also found out that Nicola Yoon’s husband actually drew the pictures, which is adorable!

So, should you read this book? Yes. It was enjoyable. You will read it in a matter of hours so even if you don’t love it, it won’t take up too much of your time. Honestly, it is worth the read for the pictures and other media alone! Overall, it was a cute story and it had a nice message, even if it was a bit unrealistic.

3/5★

sig

6 thoughts on “Review: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon”

      1. I would agree with that as well. It seems like there needed to be more serious consequences with the mom. I didn’t feel like there was enough closure there personally.

        Like

  1. I’ve been on the fence about reading this one because it sounds really predictable, but I quite like the idea of having mixed media so I might give it a chance after all 🙂
    Great review!

    Like

  2. Wonderful review 🙂 I absolutely agree. The romance was pretty cute and the mixed media was definitely the highlight for me as well. I was very unimpressed and slightly annoyed by that ending, though, which I saw as a bit of a cop-out :/ Otherwise, it was a pretty enjoyable read.

    Like

  3. So agree Donna – much to like superficially but questioned a lot of the events – the food she was able to eat for instance – longevity with an epipen wielding daughter I have some experience – and I felt uncomfortable with the ‘love can cure all’ / take the risk message even though the ending turned out differently .
    Absolutely loved the social media frame and the good writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

