If&Then Thursdays

Hi everyone,

Hope you are all enjoying your week! Here is another If&Then Thursday 🙂 If you want to participate, just comment with your link and I will link it in my post. Feel free to use any of my graphics for the post.

If&Then Thursdays is a book meme created by Alex@ Young at Heart Books. How do you participate? It’s easy! All you have to do is choose two books that are somewhat related in theme, writing style, genre, etc. Tell us how they are similar and why we would like them! All recommendations should be made in this format:

“If you like Book A, then you might enjoy Book B”

 

Here’s my If&Then for this week:

 

screenshot-2017-03-05-at-1-44-10-pm

 

Falling Kingdoms Series by Morgan Rhodes

 

 

screenshot-2017-03-05-at-1-44-44-pm

The Ruined series by Amy Tintera

 

Synopsis from Ruined:

A revenge that will consume her. A love that will ruin her.

Emelina Flores has nothing. Her home in Ruina has been ravaged by war. She lacks the powers of her fellow Ruined. Worst of all, she witnessed her parents’ brutal murders and watched helplessly as her sister, Olivia, was kidnapped.

But because Em has nothing, she has nothing to lose. Driven by a blind desire for revenge, Em sets off on a dangerous journey to the enemy kingdom of Lera. Somewhere within Lera’s borders, Em hopes to find Olivia. But in order to find her, Em must infiltrate the royal family.

In a brilliant, elaborate plan of deception and murder, Em marries Prince Casimir, next in line to take Lera’s throne. If anyone in Lera discovers Em is not Casimir’s true betrothed, Em will be executed on the spot. But it’s the only way to salvage Em’s kingdom and what is left of her family.

Em is determined to succeed, but the closer she gets to the prince, the more she questions her mission. Em’s rage-filled heart begins to soften. But with her life—and her family—on the line, love could be Em’s deadliest mistake.

 


WHY? Because Cleo & Magnus and Em& Cas are the definition of star-crossed lovers. So much ANGST! I love it. But in all seriousness, both are great fantasies imbued with political strife, war and of course some romance. Both of these authors do not shy away from killing anyone so you can never guess what is coming next. I adore both of these series and highly recommend them!

Have any recommendations you would like to share? Tell me in the comments!

sig

 

20 thoughts on “If&Then Thursdays”

  1. Oooooh, while I admit that I wasn’t a super big fan of the Falling Kingdoms series, it did seem to have somewhat of a draw for me that I manage to keep coming back to it even though I feel so confused by it. I’m definitely going to have to try Ruined then, though. Lovely choices, Alex! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am about to start the 4th book in the Falling Kingdoms series, but Ruined does sound exciting I may add in to my TBR. Also sorry I haven’t done these in the past few weeks, I have been very busy. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No worries! I’ve been neglecting my blog a by lately too because I have also been busy 🙃. I’m jealous you have 2 Falling kingdom books left to enjoy! I’m dying waiting for the 6th, Morgan Rhodes was cruel with the ending of Crystal Storm

      Like

  3. I haven’t started the Falling Kingdoms series, but I have the first book and I’m hoping to read it sometime this month or the next! I’ve heard of Ruined and Avenged but haven’t looked much into them. They sound really interesting, though, and I love me some high fantasy. So I’ll definitely be checking those out. Thanks for sharing this! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

