Review and Movie Buzz: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

195478561

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.


thoughts

I picked this book up Sunday morning and did not put it down until I finished it that evening. Needless to say, I loved it! It was a light, witty contemporary romance and exactly what I was looking for. Simon is a unique, likable narrator and the email-correspondence love interest was adooorable! I know some people critiqued it for being too light, and that coming out doesn’t always go as smoothly as it is portrayed in this book. While I know this is true, I didn’t expect this book to be a heavy read. I wanted something cute, light and funny and that’s exactly what it was. 

Simon is an extremely likable narrator. He’s witty, smart, and a little strange but in a relatable way. He’s also an avid Harry Potter fan, which gets extra points for me.

“What’s a dementor?”
I mean, I can’t even. “Nora, you are no longer my sister.”
“So it’s some Harry Potter thing,” she says.”

Simon is also gay. He hasn’t come out to anyone yet, except for the mysterious ‘Blue’ who is another student at his school. Simon and Blue start to develop a relationship online, but both are hesitant to reveal their true identities. He is also dealing with a certain blackmailing situation with another student named Martin, which sounds serious but is actually quite hilarious throughout the story. 

While there was an adorable romance in this book, every part of it was perfection. Simon’s friends, family and his theater crew were all highly enjoyable to read about. It does touch on some heavier themes of growing up and trust, but the overall feel is light. I highly recommend this book. It made me so happy, I honestly want to pick it up and read it again!

5/5★


Movie Buzz

If you didn’t already know, Simon vs. The Homo Sapien Agenda is being made into a movie! Take a look at the IMDB page here.  It doesn’t look like the casting is finished yet but I thought it would be fun to showcase some of the actors already chosen for us to discuss!
Nick Robinson Picture

 

Simon Spier: Nick Robinson

I think he looks like a great Simon :D. You may recognize him from from Jurassic World, The 5th Wave and most recently Everything, Everything (doesn’t it look adorable??).

 

 

 

Logan Miller Picture

Martin Addison: Logan Miller

Martin is also starring in Before I Fall, which comes out this year. A lot of YA stars!

 

 

 

 

Alexandra Shipp Picture

Abby Suso: Alexandra Shipp

Oh I loved Abby! This is actually exactly how I pictured her 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Katherine Langford Picture

Leah Burke: Katherine Langford

Katherine is also starring in Thirteen Reasons Why, which is premiering on Netflix this year!

 

 

 

 

Did you enjoy this book? What do you think of the casting? Tell me in the comments!

sig

19 thoughts on “Review and Movie Buzz: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli”

  1. I’m still yet to read this! Only heard amazing things though. The fact that he’s a Harry Potter fan makes me want to pick it up sooner 😛
    Great review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t know about the movie!!! I hope they do a good job because I love this book. I grinned all the way through the last 60 pages or so, and I would love to find the time to read it again because it made me so happy 🙂 I’m glad you loved it as well. Great review and thanks for mentioning the movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually learned about the movie via Twitter, haha! I love book –> movie productions even if most of them don’t turn out great 😉 I’m glad you loved it too. This has definitely become one of my favorite contemporaries, and one of the funniest. I’m a huge fan of this author now!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

