Mini Reviews: The Distance Between Us, On The Fence and The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

So I am officially a huge Kasie West fan. I read P.S. I Like You a few months ago and thought it was absolutely adorable! I bought The Distance Between Us a while ago because I saw it on sale, but only picked it up earlier this week when I was on the plane back from my trip to New Orleans. I wanted a cute, light book to read to heal my heart after finishing Morning Star (Red Rising Trilogy). I read The Distance Between Us in three hours and I couldn’t resist buying two of her other books as well. All of her books are similar and all have a happy ending but I seriously love them! If you just read the synopsis of her books they all sound a bit cliche and predictable, but she really has a way of making them original with her lovable characters and witty banter. I didn’t think I would survive my Red Rising book hangover but Kasie West helped me through it. While P.S. I Like You is still my favorite, I found each of these books immensely enjoyable.

The Distance Between Us 

15283043Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers studies the rich like her own personal science experiment, and after years of observation she’s pretty sure they’re only good for one thing—spending money on useless stuff, like the porcelain dolls in her mother’s shop.

So when Xander Spence walks into the store to pick up a doll for his grandmother, it only takes one glance for Caymen to figure out he’s oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and that he’s one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But Xander keeps coming around, despite her best efforts to scare him off. And much to her dismay, she’s beginning to enjoy his company.

She knows her mom can’t find out—she wouldn’t approve. She’d much rather Caymen hang out with the local rocker who hasn’t been raised by money. But just when Xander’s attention and loyalty are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. And that Xander’s not the only one she should’ve been worried about.


 

Another adorable book by Kasie West! I could not peel my eyes away from this book. It sounds a bit cliche, rich guy crushes on poor girl and they fall in love. However, Kasie West does it well.

Caymen was a great character with her dry humor and sarcasm. The dialogue between her and Xander is definitely some of my favorite in any of these books. While Caymen was extremely sarcastic, it also played a role in her life and relationship as she grew closer to Xander. We learn that she uses her wit and sarcasm to cover up what she really feels, adding another layer of depth to her character. I also love the fact that her and her mom own a doll shop. It was just so..weird? And different? It added to her quirkiness.

And then there’s Xander…swoon! He was such a cutie. Xander is rich, like very very rich. His family owns a huge hotel conglomerate and Xander is in line to take over the family business one day. Caymen has a huge grudge against rich guys, but Xander is cute, charming and can’t seem to leave Caymen alone. They both bond over the fact that they don’t really know what they want out of their future so they grow closer and they go on “career days” to sample different careers.

Overall, I highly recommend this very enjoyable book! The romance was great, the supporting characters were great and I ate up every second of it.

4/5★

On the Fence

18298225

For sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world of makeup, lacy skirts, and BeDazzlers. Even stranger, she’s spending time with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game.

To cope with the stress of faking her way through this new reality, Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with Braden by the fence that separates them. But their Fence Chats can’t solve Charlie’s biggest problem: she’s falling for Braden. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.


 

Growing up with three brothers, Charlie is a huge tomboy. She plays every sport and doesn’t express a lot of interest in typical girly things. She adores her brothers and Braden, the boy next door. Charlie also has a lot of trouble sleeping due to nightmares, and we get hints that these nightmares are about her mother, who passed away when Charlie was six. These sleepless nights often bring Charlie outside, where she discovers Braden also has reasons to be outside at night. I loved the ‘fence talks’ with Braden as we watch their friendship develop into something more.

While always sticking to pretty simple plots, Kasie West does an amazing job of making the characters feel so real, with some depth to them. Charlie was dealing with the death of her mother and growing up in a house full of men- she never really had a mother-like role model to look up to. When she is exposed to make-up and makes a few friends at the boutique she works at, Charlie is embarrassed to show her brothers and friends. She never saw herself as typically “girly” and thought all of her guy friends saw her the same way. Not to mention her adorable, over-protective brothers who wouldn’t let any guys near her 🙂

Overall, On The Fence is yet another adorable YA romance. I loved the childhood friend to lovers theme in this book and Kasie West did such a good job with it. I found myself always looking forward to Charlie’s next “fence” talk with Braden. They were adorable! Definitely read this book.

4/5★

The Fill-In Boyfriend

18660447

When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.


 

I saved this Kasie West book for last because the synopsis didn’t intrigue me as much as the others. Gia sounded spoiled (granted, she did start out spoiled) and I was worried I wouldn’t relate to her. I am happy to say I was very wrong! I thoroughly enjoyed this book just as much as the others, and I adored the developing relationship between Gia and fake Bradley (I won’t tell you his name because the reveal is pretty cute).

Gia Montgomery is the “it” girl. She’s smart, popular, fashionable and totally absorbed in herself. Much of her life revolves around social media and what other people think of her. She has a hot older boyfriend, Bradley, who consequently dumps her right before prom due to her being so self-centered. Desperate to maintain appearances, Gia grabs a random guy in the parking lot and begs him to pretend to be her Bradley. I know, it sounds silly, but Kaise West makes this book thoroughly enjoyable with her witty dialogue and adorable scenes. 

I also enjoyed Gia’s character development throughout the story. Towards the end she realizes that she was vapid and spoiled, and wants to be different moving forward. I know life isn’t that simple…but I really enjoyed this story! It made me swoon and giggle and I again remembered why I love Kasie West. If you are looking for a cute, light read, I definitely recommend this book (and all of her other books!)

4/5★

sig

6 thoughts on “Mini Reviews: The Distance Between Us, On The Fence and The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West”

  1. I read P.S I like you and The fill in boyfriend and I rated them both around the 3 star mark. I do agree the witty dialogue and quirky characters are great but the plot just wasn’t the most unique and they were really cliche so ever since I’ve just stayed away. Maybe I should give her another go? Third times a charm …Great reviews!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

