The Try A Chapter Tag

I decided to do this tag after seeing Larkin do it over at Wonderfilled Reads. It seemed like a fun idea to help me decide what to read next. I felt a little lost after finishing off ACOL and saying goodbye to Kell, Lila, Rhy and Alucard, so I needed some inspiration to start my next books!

This tag was created by BookParadise on Youtube.

RULES:

  • Pick 5 (or more) books from your tbr
  • Read the first chapter of all of them (including the prologue if there is one)
  • Tell your readers if you’re sold on the book and what you thought of the first chapter.
  • Are you going to finish the book this month?

I picked five books that I own, and some of them have been on my TBR for a while. I had a lot of fun doing this tag and sampling each of these books, but I didn’t anticipate how long it would take to read the first chapter of each! I definitely came out with a clear winner, but reading the first chapter made me very excited to eventually dive into all of them.

Book 1: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

annaandthefrenchkiss

 

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

I can tell this will be a cute book! I enjoyed the first chapter- we meet Anna as her parents are shipping her off to boarding school in France. I’m definitely excited to read a book with a setting in Paris. While I am in the mood for a contemporary, the first chapter didn’t grab me like some of the others. I’m setting this one aside for now but I will definitely be picking it up soon.

Book 2: My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbaleister

mysisterrosa

What if the most terrifying person you’d ever met was your ten-year old sister? A spine-chilling psychological thriller from one of Australia’s finest YA authors.

‘I promise,’ said Rosa. ‘I won’t kill and I won’t make anyone else kill.’

I can’t see the loophole. Since the guinea pig there’s been nothing. Months now without Rosa killing as much as a mosquito.

As far as I know.

Che Taylor has four items on his list: 1. He wants to spar, not just train in the boxing gym. 2. He wants a girlfriend. 3. He wants to go home. 4. He wants to keep Rosa under control.

Che’s little sister Rosa is smart, talented, pretty, and so good at deception that Che’s convinced she must be a psychopath. She hasn’t hurt anyone yet, but he’s certain it’s just a matter of time. And when their parents move them to New York City, Che longs to return to Sydney and his three best friends. But his first duty is to his sister Rosa, who is playing increasingly complex and disturbing games. Can he protect Rosa from the world – and the world from Rosa?

My Sister Rosa will have you on the edge of your seat from the very first page to the last.

Creepy! In the first chapter we are introduced to Che, the narrator, and his younger sister Rosa. It seems like Rosa is a very disturbed girl, but she seems to have everyone fooled. Che seems to be the only one who controls her actions by making her keep strange promises to not do anything “bad.” I’m definitely intrigued with this one! Although for now, I think I want something a little lighter.

Book 3: Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

195478561

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

So so great! I loved the first chapter! We are introduced to Simon, who is gay, but hasn’t told anyone about it except this “Blue” that he met online, who happens to also be a junior from Simon’s high school. The opening chapter shows Simon being blackmailed by another student after reading his private emails with Blue. Simon is a hilarious and witty narrator and I can’t wait to continue this one. I can’t believe it took me this long to pick it up!

Book 4: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments#3)

cityofglass

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?

Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.

So…I am determined to finish this series so I can read other Cassandra Clare books…but I’m not sure I like these books yet! They are so BIG, which usually doesn’t bother me but I just want to know what happens. The opening chapter deals with Clary making plans to head to Idris. She’s still not on great terms with Jace, or Simon for that matter. Although I will say there was a pretty great fight scene so I want to know what happens. I will read this series, but not next!

Book 5: Brain on Fire by Susannah Cahalan

brainonfire

An award-winning memoir and instant New York Times bestseller that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, Brain on Fire is the powerful account of one woman’s struggle to recapture her identity.

When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak, she had no memory of how she’d gotten there. Days earlier, she had been on the threshold of a new, adult life: at the beginning of her first serious relationship and a promising career at a major New York newspaper. Now she was labeled violent, psychotic, a flight risk. What happened?

In a swift and breathtaking narrative, Cahalan tells the astonishing true story of her descent into madness, her family’s inspiring faith in her, and the lifesaving diagnosis that nearly didn’t happen.

This is a book I’ve wanted to read for a while now, it sounds so interesting! Its also being made into a movie so I want to read it first. Its not my typical YA pick, its actually a memoir, but the subject matter was really intriguing to me. I also think its amazing that she wrote this book after such an ordeal! The first chapter deals with her being obsessed about “bedbugs” which she ends the chapter by saying is a sign of psychosis, although she didn’t know it at the time. Definitely a great first chapter!

 

And the winner is…

 

195478561

While all the other books sounds great, I couldn’t resist reading more about Simon! I can tell it will be a great read.

Have you read this book? What did you think?

sig

12 thoughts on “The Try A Chapter Tag”

Leave a Reply

