Books I Read (Part 2)

Hello and welcome back to my summary of books read over the past few months! If you’ve followed my blog at all, you probably noticed I took quite a long blogging hiatus, but I certainly didn’t stop reading. I don’t think I could stop reading if I tried.  I can’t wait to talk about every single one of these books with all of you 🙂

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover ★★★★

While the subject matter is more of a sensitive one (cheating), I thought Colleen Hoover produced a very thoughtful, emotional story. I personally loved Sidney and Ridge as characters. CoHo always incorporates a unique artsy aspect to her stories and this time it was music. It was even more intriguing learning that Ridge is deaf! I definitely recommend this book, along with all of CoHo’s other books 🙂

Slammed by Colleen Hoover ★★★

Colleen Hoover is one of my favorite contemporary authors and I flew through this book, just like the others. However, it was probably my least favorite of them all. It was a little too insta-lovey for me. It was well-written, steamy, addictive and creative (as always), but I won’t be picking up the sequels anytime soon.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart ★★★★

I highly recommend this contemporary mystery with a magical realism-esque feeling. I read it in about five hours so it is definitely a quick read. I usually pride myself on figuring out what’s going on, but this book had me guessing until the very end. Cadence is the perfect unreliable narrator and this story forces the reader to guess what happened that year on her family’s vacation island.

The Serpent King by Jeff Zenter ★★★

This book gets a lot of love in the bookish community and I am sad to say I didn’t love it. It was honestly just ok. I didn’t connect with the characters, and it definitely didn’t give me the feels. It was well-written, but that was about all I enjoyed.

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee ★★★★★

This book was such a guilty pleasure and I loved every second of it. This book is definitely some kind of a futuristic gossip girl and the drama is so addicting. The story opens with an unnamed character falling (or jumping?) off of the thousandth floor and the rest of the story unravels the events that lead up to this one moment. This book is well-written with a unique concept and well-developed characters. Highly recommended!

Alienated by Melissa Landers ★★

This book was just so……YA. I’ve read enough young adult books to know when I’m reading an average, tropey story. It was not terrible…just not memorable. There were too many plot inconsistencies and the characters lacked depth. I probably won’t be reading the sequel anytime soon.

26074185

Ruined by Amy Tintera ★★★★

Ruined may not have been the most original story I’ve read..but it was damn enjoyable. The book has nonstop action from the first page and I loved every second of it! Emelina Flores wants to infiltrate the royal family to seek revenge on those that destroyed her home. She then meets handsome prince Cas and realizes that revenge may not be her only option. I am definitely looking forward to the sequel in this exciting story!

 

That’s it for round 2! What books would you like to see reviewed first?

sig

11 thoughts on “Books I Read (Part 2)”

  1. I’m so glad you loved We were liars, I loved it so much. I was hooked from page one and didn’t expect the twist at all. I’m sad to hear you couldn’t connect to the characters in The Serpent King – it’s a book I really enjoyed ; but I’m glad you still found things to like in this story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

