Series Read-Along Update

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to give a quick update for my Series Read-Along Challenge I am participating in for November and December. I’m hoping to make a serious dent in some of the series I’ve started over the past year! Here is my blurb from the original post in case you missed it:

The Series Read-Along Challenge is hosted by YA Buddy Reader’s Corner on Goodreads. Their group is a great way to connect with other bloggers and readers and they have regular reading challenges like this one. So how does this challenge work?

“This is a two month challenge running from the 1st of November to the 31st of December 2016.

The aim of this challenge is to read as many series/sequels as you can, before the new year!

The way this will work is that you will receive points based on what number book in a series you are reading, and because we love to motivate each other, a buddy read will be worth double points. Yes Double!”


So far I’ve read (all titles are linked to my review):

The Young Elites by Marie Lu  +1

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab +1

 

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare [review to come] +2

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson [review to come] +1

 

Currently reading: 

18966819

Golden Son (Red Rising#2) by Pierce Brown +2

So far I’m really into this book, but I have to say…Darrow seems to be portrayed as extraordinarily intelligent and always has a plan, which often isn’t revealed to the reader until after the fact. To be honest he reminds me a bit of…….Celaena Sardothien  😉 Regardless, I am thoroughly enjoying this book and it is certainly action-packed.

So far my total (including Golden Son) = 7

Up next?

I’m not sure what I want to pick up next. I do need to eventually dive into my ever-growing NetGalley ARC pile but I also want to continue with my series! Here are the two I am deciding between:

The Rose Society by Marie Lu (The Young Elites #2)

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments #3)

What do you think I should read? I’ve heard great things about Rose Society but overall unenthusiastic reviews for Midnight Star. Or should I continue to dive into The Mortal Instruments, even though I’ve felt pretty lukewarm about this series so far?

Signature

6 thoughts on “Series Read-Along Update”

  1. Ahh, Golden Son is soooo good but I do agree about Darrow always having a plan. I understand why authors do that, because it builds tension as the reader doesn’t know what’s going on until it all comes to a climax. I can’t complain though, I love feeling tense and then going OMG when we are finally let in on the secret, haha. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

