Teaser Tuesday #7

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


I finally started Red Rising by Pierce Brown and while it took me a while to get into the complex world-building and lingo, I am absolutely loving it now! If the book continues in this direction I think it could very well be one of my favorite reads of the year. The world building is phenomenal. It is a refreshing take on a sci-fi dystopian world and Darrow is a great protagonist. He wants to fight for his people but he is so filled with rage and often faced with morally compromising situations. I’m only about 40% through the book at the moment, but so far Darrow has suffered more than most. I am both eager and scared to see what challenges he will have to face next.

I chose this teaser because I always get excited when I see the title of the book in the story. I always have a moment when I think, “So THAT’s what it means!” I am also really enjoying Pierce Brown’s writing, it is very descriptive and intense.

 

Here is my teaser. Enjoy!

“Things are set in stone. Things are well ordered. Reds at the bottom, everyone else standing on our backs. Now you’re looking at me and you’re realizing that we don’t bloodydamn like it down there. Red is rising, Mickey.”  Page 94

 

 


15839976

“I live for the dream that my children will be born free,” she says. “That they will be what they like. That they will own the land their father gave them.”

“I live for you,” I say sadly.

Eo kisses my cheek. “Then you must live for more.”

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations.

Yet he spends his life willingly, knowing that his blood and sweat will one day result in a better world for his children.

But Darrow and his kind have been betrayed. Soon he discovers that humanity already reached the surface generations ago. Vast cities and sprawling parks spread across the planet. Darrow—and Reds like him—are nothing more than slaves to a decadent ruling class.

Inspired by a longing for justice, and driven by the memory of lost love, Darrow sacrifices everything to infiltrate the legendary Institute, a proving ground for the dominant Gold caste, where the next generation of humanity’s overlords struggle for power. He will be forced to compete for his life and the very future of civilization against the best and most brutal of Society’s ruling class. There, he will stop at nothing to bring down his enemies… even if it means he has to become one of them to do so.

 

Have you read Red Rising? What did you think of it? Is it on your TBR?

Signature

19 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday #7”

      1. I’ve heard the same thing about Golden Son. Larkin told me about this book 6-7 months ago, and it took me until April or May to read it, and when I finally got through the clunky parts, I couldn’t put it down. Enjoy! It’s a great read. 🙂

        Like

  1. I won a copy of it on Goodreads from a giveaway (the first and only giveaway I’ve ever won from them). I can’t wait to read it…it’s just that when I own a book, it goes to the bottom of the pile…because of all the ARCs that need to be read! I have one due Nov 1!
    Glad you are enjoying it now that you’ve gotten into it…I’ve heard that a lot about this book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

