Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Covers

 

Hi everyone! Its time for another Top 5 Wednesday ๐Ÿ™‚

Top 5 Wednesdays is hosted by Sam @ ThoughtsOnTomes and Lainey @Gingerreadslainey. You can check out the Goodreads group here.

Here is this week’s topic: Those books that have nothing to do with the story, or the cover model doesn’t look anything like the actual main character, or it’s a really cheesy cover for a great read!


1.

Graceling, Fire and Bitterblue by Kristen Cashore

I loved Graceling and it is still one of my favorite fantasies. Fire and Bitterblue are both companion novels, each focusing on a different character in the Graceling world. While I think the covers are beautiful, I didn’t pick up Graceling for the longest time because the cover just made it seem like a generic fantasy! I don’t know what I was expecting from Graceling, but the cover certainly didn’t give me any insight.

 

2.

256683

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Shirtlessย Jace on front? At least I’m assuming that’s Jace. Okay…why do we need that? Is Jace even the main character in this book? Why is he shirtless?! He’s doesn’t even have any shirtless scenes in the book. This cover definitely gives me the wrong impression of this book, and I actually enjoyed it.

 

3.7896527

 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I know this is the older cover, but I still don’t like it. ย THIS is the notorious, deadly assassin? She looks like a love-struck teenager. This does not give me the impression of the Celaena I know and read about.

 

4.

10429092

Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

I’m assuming this is supposed to be the gem in Elisa’s belly button, which I know is already kind of strange but it works with the story. This cover tells me absolutely nothing about this wonderful, thought-provokingย fantasy and its a shame! This is one of my favorite trilogies, and very underrated in my opinion.

5.

Imdalind Series by Rebecca Ethington

This is a very good series and these covers make it looks like a romance! There is so much more to it than that. This is another great fantasy series (from what I’ve read). I’m not a huge fan of real people on the cover, it usually cheapens it for me.

 

Here are my Top 5 inaccurate book covers. What are some of yours? Do you agree with mine? Thanks for reading!

Signature

22 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Covers”

  1. Wow, the original cover of Throne of Glass looks bad. It makes Cealena look like a princess instead of a badass assassin like how the new covers portray her as. I was thinking about picking up the Girl of Fire and Thorns for a long time, now I may.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So agree with you on some of these. That cover for Graceling looks like some lame fantasy series for sure. I also stayed away because of the cover. I started it months ago and still need to finish. I’m glad you liked. I need to make it a point to finish all the books I half started by the end of the year. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Totally agree with you on TMI. That cover is so weird and had me confused. That’s another one I started and haven’t finished. I guess now I can blame the cover. lol

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Graceling is great! But yeah the covers are generic. I had no idea what it was about until I read it.
      TMI is the worst. Nothing romantic really even happens in the first book but of course we have naked Jace! ๐Ÿ˜‚ the first book was ok…but I’m willing to give the series a chance because it has so much hype. I bought books 3,4 and 5 today (oops).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Fingers crossed. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have you seen the TV show? I’ve only saw the first few episodes before they stopped streaming all of them on Hulu. What I saw wasn’t bad. I think I liked Jace from the movie better than the show, same for the other actors.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mortal Instruments have the worst covers! The one that I think is really really bad is City of Fallen Angels. It’s Simon and Clary, and Simon has a quiver of arrows on his back… and I could never figure out what the heck for! He’s not an archer! Especially not in book 5!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great picks for this post Alex. A lot of these series I haven’t actually read yet, I’ve had the Graceling books on my to-read list for the longest time as well and I’m not sure if it’s because of the covers or not.
    I do completely agree about the City of Bones cover, I don’t have own that edition and I do think it doesn’t really fit the story well, and the same with the Throne of Glass books. The new covers definitely fit that series so much better!
    Great post! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Beth! Graceling is one of my favorite fantasies. It’s not that I dislike the cover.. I just feel like it makes it look like a generic fantasy and that kept me from reading it for a while (kind of like why I keep putting off reading Queen of the Tearling ๐Ÿ˜Š) you should definitely read Graceling if you get the chance! The other two are just okay, I don’t feel like they are must-reads.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t really have any strong feelings towards the cover either way, and I am someone who largely picks up books based on how interesting the cover looks. Still I’ve heard great things about the series so I guess I do need to get started on it! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  5. OMG Real people on fantasy covers bug me too! I don’t know what it is about them, but I would’ve assumed the Imdalin series was a romance based on those covers. >.< Also haven't picked up Girl of Fire and Thorns because of the painful cover, but know I'm curious!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yeah, I agree with you on The Girl of Fire and Thorns…every time I go to check it out the cover turns me off.
    With Throne of Glass, I prefer anything to the new one! I’m totally turned off by the cartoony chick on the cover of the series and they still tell me nothing about the book!
    This should be a tag everyone should do at least once!! ๐Ÿค”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

