Blogger Recognition Award

I was nominated by Sam @ One Bookish Girl, Beth @ Reading Every Night, Jessica @ Pore Over The Pages and Kate @ The Nerdy Novelty. Thank you for all the tags!


RULES

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Select at least 3 other blogs you want to give the award to

WHY I STARTED MY BLOG

I’ve been an avid reader for about as long as I can remember. I have extremely fond memories of going to the bookstore with my mom and picking out a few new books to read. I never had an issue finding books, I was so busy with school and sports that I could never read as much as I really wanted to. Then I got my first kindle. I rebelled against it for the longest time because I wanted ‘real’ books. Finally, I decided ‘who cares’ because I got to read more books for less money and more convenience.

My reading definitely slowed in college because I was just too busy all the time. I had an enormous amount of guilt when I would read anything other than my textbooks. I managed to read a little, but not nearly as much as I wanted to. Towards the end of college I was reading more, but I had trouble finding good books to read! I started following a few book blogs on my own for recommendations. I thought it would be a lot of fun to start my own blog, but I was terrified. I had no idea where to even start. I didn’t even know which blogging platforms existed! I shoved that idea away for the time being, happy with my recommendations from other bloggers.

After I graduated from college I read like crazy! This was the first time in my life I wasn’t in school and I could read as much as I wanted. I subscribed to kindle unlimited and read multiple books per week. I was in book heaven, but I didn’t have anyone to talk to about everything I was reading. I also started to forget books. I would look on my kindle and think “Oh, I remember really enjoying that but I can’t really remember the specifics.” I wanted a way to keep track of the books I’ve read and my thoughts about them soon after finishing them. While I was still too terrified to actually publish anything online, I played around with the idea of starting a blog. I so desperately wanted to talk about my books but I still had no idea where to start. I began by writing down reviews for books on my computer, telling myself it was a first step. A few months later, I researched blogs and figured I knew enough to get started. I posted a few reviews and was absolutely thrilled when I got my first like! Now that I’ve started following more blogs and have interacted with so many great bloggers, I’m so happy I started this blog. I still have so much to learn about the blog world, but for now I am happy I get to share my thoughts on books! I do wish I was a little better with graphic design to make my blog prettier though ;). Anyway, almost three months later and I am still enjoying it more than ever!

TWO PIECES OF ADVICE FOR NEW BLOGGERS

I still consider myself a new blogger, but I do feel like I’ve learned a few things that would have been helpful for me a few months ago.

1.One of my first questions as a new blogger was: How will people even know my blog exists?

It took me a few days to catch on to this, but the answer is simple. Interact with other bloggers! Don’t be shy. Go explore other blogs. I also wasn’t sure how to find other blogs that discussed similar books. A great way to blog hop is to look at the nominations and tags. Once you find a blog you like, look at their tags and follow the bloggers they tag! Its a great way to find new blogs. And comment, comment, comment! The only way you are going to receive comments is if you venture out and comment on other blogs. Its also a great way to meet people in the blogosphere.

2. It is OKAY to join Netgally or other services like that when you are a brand new blogger. 

When I first started blogging and discovered Netgalley, I was excited to join. I started reading other posts about Netgalley and most of them say you need to be an established blogger and post your stats on my profile. So I joined and looked at my stats…and figured saying I only had 2 followers probably wouldn’t look that great on my NetGalley profile, so I left it off. And you know what? I still got approved for some ARCs! Sure, I got rejected for some but its not the end of the world if that happens. I think its more important to maintain your NetGalley ratio (number of books approved: feedback given) which shows publishers you are willing to read and review their books if they approve you.

 

Here are my tags! Apologies if you’ve already done this one 🙂

ClosetReaders

Queen Mery

Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books

 

Signature

16 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award”

      1. I stopped requesting books and more keep showing up. 😂 I don’t make time anymore. I write my reviews in advance, but over the past month, I haven’t had much time with my move to Florida. I have completely slacked on Hype or Like Friday posts, discussion posts, and writing and publishing posts the last few months. I’ve posted so many reviews it’s crazy. 😂

        Like

  1. I loved reading how your blog came about Alex, and also great advice as well. I think commenting is such an important part of having a blog, and blog hoping through award and tags was how I discovered a lot of my followers in the beginning as well! 😀
    I started NetGalley the second I had my blog, I didn’t see anything about being an established blogger or about putting your stats down. I still don’t have my stats on my Profile and I get accepted for ARCs, it’s the review ratio that’s the most important I think!
    Great post! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for all the comments!! I read about NetGalley before joining and I had read some posts about how you needed a certain number followers and you had to be established, but I’ve been approved for plenty of ARCs so far. The worst that’s going to happen is that there’re going to say no!

      I’m also so happy I started this blog. I love interacting with other bloggers and I also love finishing a book and taking time to really think about it and forming those thoughts into a review. It makes the book more meaningful to me. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, I’m trying to catch up on what I missed while on holiday! 🙂 I discovered NetGalley around the same time I discovered blogging so for me I didn’t really read any posts about it before jumping right in a requesting some ARCs. Exactly, and I think the more you review and the more you build your rating up the more likely you are to get approved, it doesn’t matter about stats and the worse they can do is say no.
        Same here, honestly I don’t know what my life would be like if I didn’t have this blog, even leaving it for a week to go on holiday felt wrong!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

