WWW Wednesday #6

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam@ Taking on a World of Words.

To participate, all you have to do is answer the following questions:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


September has been a productive month so far for reading! There has been so many anticipated releases and I am very happy but my bank account is not 🙂 I’ve been slowly working through my ARCs from NetGalley and I got a library card so I’ve read a few ebooks from there when they become available. I’ve been very lucky with all of the books I’ve picked up so far in September because I loved them all (well, most of them)Let’s hope the trend continues.

Currently Reading:

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

I am making my way through Empire of Storms and I am enjoying it..but did anyone else find the first 250 pages kind of boring? Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing the characters again but I don’t feel like much happened. I’m a little further in the book now and its starting to pick up. So far, Manon and Elide are the stars of this book. I love seeing their stories develop! I really admire Maas for her ability to created multiple story lines that I care about. Also, Dorian ♥.

Catalyst by Helena Coggan

I know I’ve been reading this book forever and Empire of Storms is taking priority, but I cannot get into it. I really don’t want to have a DNF but I’m having trouble getting through it. The writing is  little too precocious and I’m having a hard time differentiating between the characters. They all seem to have the same voice and personality. Anyway, I will continue reading for now even if it takes me a while to get through.

Recently Finished:

More Than This by Patrick Ness 

My first Patrick Ness book was a success! I am a huge fan of this book. Even though I had no idea what was going on most of the time, I loved it. I had no idea where the story was taking me. Ness’s writing is simple and elegant. That ending had me thinking about the book for days. My review will be up later this week!

A Torch Against The Night by Sabaa Tahir

This book is the sequel to An Ember in the Ashes. I liked Ember, but this book was brilliant. I loved it and thought some aspects of it were so original. It was overall a pleasant surprise! You can read my full review here.

Confess by Colleen Hoover

Why did I wait until now to read more CoHo books? This book became available at the library and I thought I would just read a few chapters of it to start off and I couldn’t put it down until I finished. Her writing style is so addicting. I didn’t originally think the subject would interest me as much as some of her other books, but I was wrong. It was lovely and I adored this book. I appreciated how multi-layered the plot was, it has a lot more depth than I was expecting. My review should be up sometime next week.

What I’ll Read Next:

All The Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood

I know, I know. This has been on my “what I’ll read next” list for a few weeks now. I promise it is next in line! I was too excited about A Torch Against The Night and Empire of Storms so I put it on hold for now. This will hopefully be the last time its on my “to-read” list because I fully intend on picking it up next. I can’t wait 🙂

Labyrinth Lost by Zorida Cordova

I missed the publication date for this book (September 6th) but I still plan on reading and reviewing it before the end of the month! There’s a lot of hype around this book and I hope it lives up to it. The concept sounds strange and unique so I am definitely intrigued.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Finally, I plan finishing up September with Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On. This is the book of the month for Hype or Like Friday and I am looking forward to reading it.

 

Hopefully I finish everything I plan on reading this month, but this should take me to the end of September. What are you reading this week? Anything you’re looking forward to in September? Thanks for reading 🙂

 

Signature

 

32 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #6”

  1. I have Confess on my stacks, Alex…and since I have loved several other books by the author, I’m looking forward to it. I also have All the Ugly and Wonderful Things waiting on Pippa, my Kindle. Soon!

    I’ve read and loved several Rainbow Rowell books…so I don’t know why I’m hesitating about Carry On. Perhaps I’m not sure about Simon Snow all the time. Hmm.

    Here’s MY WWW POST

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Confess was really great! I’m convinced I will love anything Colleen Hoover writes. I actually haven’t read hat many Rainbow Rowell books, so I’m not sure what to expect with Carry On. I guess we will find out. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 On my way to yours!

      Like

  2. I hope you enjoy the rest of Empire of Storms, I think I get what you mean about it being slow to start, and I definitely agree about Manon and Elide being the stars of the story, but it does get a lot better, trust me by the end you’ll be desperate for the next book in the series!
    I’m really glad to see you loved More Than This as well, I had no clue what was going on half the time either but it’s one of my favourite Patrick Ness books!
    Also I hope you enjoy Carry On, it’s my favourite Rainbow Rowell books and I’m looking forwards to seeing everyone’s reviews for Hype or Like Friday! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am enjoying Empire of Storms! I was still enjoying it in the beginning because I was so happy to see my characters again, but it has definitely picked up now 😊

      And that’s good to hear about Carry On! I wasn’t really sure what to expect from it but it’s good to know that it’s one of your favorite books.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved Confess. CoHo is amazing. I’ve read all of her books. I ordered Carry On along with all of Rainbow Rowell’s books before Labor Day and I still haven’t received them. Book Depository moves at a snails pace. I asked them on Twitter if they deliver their books by hand. I hope I get it in time to review for Hype or Like Friday. I’m reading Labyrinth Lost right now and it’s awesome. I hope you like it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going to start Labyrinth Lost as soon as I get through the ARC I’m reading now which is moving verrrrry slowly because I don’t really like it. I honestly didn’t know what to expect from Confess but had my face glued to the book for hours, so I definitely liked it 😉 I’m happy I still have so many of her books to discover.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been waiting to read EoS for a while but I still haven’t got it 😦 is it getting better? Lots of Rowaelin?;) I just finished Six of Crows (it was amazing) and I’m really excited for Crooked Kingdoms.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

