Review: A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

25558608“Elias and Laia are running for their lives.

After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire.

Laia is determined to break into Kauf – the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison – to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars’ survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom.

But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene – Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike.

Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own – one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape… and kill them both.”


thoughts

 

A Torch Against the Night is a sequel to An Ember in the Ashes. There will inevitability be spoilers for Ember so do not read this if you don’t want the first book spoiled for you! If you want to see my review on the first book, you can find it here.

I normally don’t use gifs in my reviews, but I have no other way of describing my reaction to this book. After finishing it I definitely felt like this:

tumblr_nrhiymfp0f1tkx26qo1_500

But also like this:

And this is how I felt after I found out the next book wouldn’t be released until 2018:

Wow, I loved this book! When I first started reading, I was enjoying the story. I really liked Ember in the Ashes so of course I was looking forward to the sequel. And for the first 70%, it was good but it didn’t blow me away. I already had it in my head that I was going to rate it 4 stars, just like the first book. The plot seemed to be what I expected- Laia and Elias escape Blackcliff, Laia and Elias head to Kauf to break out Laia’s brother Darin, Helene deals with her new status as Blood Shrike and struggles with her loyalty to the empire and her love for Elias, and the Commandant is as evil as ever. However as I read further into the story, it really started to pick up and the last 30% blew me away. There were multiple plot twists that I could have never predicted and Tahir took her character development to a new level. This book is brutal, heart wrenching, devastating and absolutely perfect. This book will rip your heart out and leave you wanting more.

The story is told again through alternating points of view. We have chapters from Laia and Elias, as well as Helene in this book. Helene’s point of view was a welcome and necessary addition to the book. As these three were often in different locations, it was helpful to get the bigger picture. In terms of the characters, well the characters were wonderful. If you didn’t already love Elias Veturius you absolutely will now. Elias is just so good despite his upbringing. His violent past haunts him, yet he must rely on his abilities as a Mask to survive.

Helene Aquilla shines in this novel. Sabaa Tahir, what a beautifully complex, broken and terrifying character you have created. She is constantly struggling with her loyalty to the Empire and her love for Elias and her family. She wants to do the right thing, but she isn’t sure what the right decision is. As Blood Shrike, she must hunt down and kill Elias. The idea repulses her, but is one life worth the entire fate of the Empire? I loved reading Helene’s story. Its not always a happy one- she goes through considerable heartbreak and grief and the future looks bleak. Helene is quickly becoming one of my favorite book characters. The title also seems to be a tribute to Helene:

” ‘But you, Helene Aquilla, are no swift-burning spark. You are a torch against the night- if you dare to let yourself burn ‘”

Page 267

Helene’s story also introduces us to a new character, Avitas Harper. Oh, I really hope we get to see more of Avitas Harper. I have a feeling he has a lot more depth to him than we saw in this book and I am excited to see his character explored in the next book.

I adored Laia throughout the story and I was surprised to see so much hate for Laia in other reviews. Sure, she sometimes makes the wrong decision, but Laia’s singular goal continues to be to get Darin out of prison. Laia’s unwavering loyalty and determination was the reason I loved her so much in the first place. Laia is still the same fierce, no-nonsense girl we met in Ember in the Ashes so I was confused when I read other reviews saying she was weaker and didn’t take charge. There was also a development about Laia’s character that will be very interesting to explore in the next book. I also wanted to say that I still ship Laia and Elias so much. While the book isn’t necessarily romance-centered, it has its moments and those moments are adorable.

This book was better than the first. Tahir never shies away from exploring raw human emotions and bloody, brutal scenes. I remember at one point I thought, “She’s not going to go through with this is she?” …and yes, she did. This book is amazing and I cannot praise it highly enough. There are still so many aspects of the book I want to discuss so I think I will have another spoiler discussion post soon, so keep your eye out for that. I hope you all enjoy this book as much as I did!

5/5

sig

 

*All images are taken from google and I do not claim ownership over any of them. If you would like an image removed from my post, please let me know*

11 thoughts on “Review: A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir”

  1. Oh my goodness, I had no idea that the next book won’t be released until 2018! I’ll be getting A Torch Against the Night soon, but I have no idea how I’ll wait that long for book #3! I’m so glad to hear that this book does have multiple plot twists, since I feared it would be too predictable (since the synopsis seemed to give away exactly what happens). Great review, Alex, and I hope I enjoy this one as much as you did! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great review Alex, I’m really glad you loved this book as well.
    I completely agree with you about the last 30% just being so action packed and mind blowing, and is the next book not out until 2018! How can we wait that long to find out what happens next?!
    I loved Elias and Helene a lot more in this book, their journeys were just so well written and their characters so wonderful in the face of the hardships they both went though. I can’t wait to see what’s next in store for both of them! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I still haven’t read the first book, so I skimmed. Liked the gifs though: how do you get those to post?? I can’t seem to get them to come through right….it just shows up as a link: any tidbits of advice for me on that?
    Glad you liked the book!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a great book! I definitely recommend the series. For the gifs, I read that you have to copy and paste the full size image for it to work. So on Google, view the entire image and I just copied the image address and used the ‘add media’ button in WordPress. It worked for me, but I’m not very tech savvy haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

