Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany

51by71ubtal-_sx329_bo1204203200_Image and synopsis from Amazon:

“Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne,Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.”


 

thoughts

 

This was obviously one of the most anticipated releases of the year. Harry Potter has a huge following and many people from my generation (myself included) grew up with Harry. These books are hands down the reason I learned to love reading. There’s also a few things you should know about this installment, if you don’t already: its written as a script and while the story is from J.K. Rowling, it still had to be translated to a play form so we don’t get a lot of the descriptions and detail we are used to in the books. There were absolutely phrases I recognized and I was so appreciative of that. I’m not saying this is necessarily a disappointment, and I know it was necessary to adapt the story to a script. Still, I missed it.

That being said, did I enjoy the story? Yes, I did. I honestly did not have any expectations, because how could you when the story is told in such a different format? In a way, I think Rowling is smart to do it this way. If she had simply written another book, would I have been disappointed if it didn’t live up to the first seven? Probably. Most likely. But with a play..its new and original. Its a standalone, in a way, and I can appreciate it for what it is.

As for the story line, there were many aspects that were really heartwarming. There were elements from past books, and scenes with characters I never imagined I would see again. There are relationships I was happy to watch develop. I don’t want to say too much about the plot though. The story mainly follows Albus Severus Potter and his adventure. There’s not as much time spent at Hogwarts, not as much magic and spells, yet I still enjoyed it. It is not, by any means, a continuation of the series. It is a standalone play, but we do get to revisit our beloved characters one last time. There was so much nostalgia with this story!

The dialogue is also hilarious. Ron is still as goofy as ever, and Hermione is equally bossy.

“Ron: Honestly, every time I sit down I make an “ooof” noise. An “ooof.” And my feet- thr trouble I’m having with my feet- I could write songs about the pin my feet give me- maybe your scar is like that.”

Page 67

 

Harry is still same old Harry, and I was very pleased with his relationship with Ginny.

“Harry: I’d do anything for him.

Ginny: You’d do anything for anybody. You were pretty happy to sacrifice yourself for the world.”

Page 277

Oh and Scorpius was darling! I loved his character. His relationship with Albus made me nostalgic for the Ron, Hermione, Harry days.

I also really did love all of the references to Harry’s adventures from his childhood. I experienced some major Harry Potter nostalgia going through this play. The ending was also very poetic, in a way we ended where everything began. Overall, I was pleased with this Harry Potter story. It was a lovely tribute to our favorite characters, and we even learned a little more about some of them. My only regret is that I can’t see it on stage! Maybe one day 🙂

 

hyped-logo1

In terms of rating, I am participating in Hype or Like Friday, which is a meme co-created Jill @ Rantandraveaboutbooks, Britt @ Geronimo Reads and Larkin @ Wonderfilled Reads. Join their Goodreads group here to participate for next month. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is our book of the month, and instead of giving the book a rating you “hype it” or “like it.” This book is tough, because while I really did enjoy it, it unfortunately had too much hype to live up to. I thought it was an enjoyable read, but I’m not going to hype it.

1414478

 

What did you think about Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? Would you hype it?

 

sig

12 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany”

  1. Sadly for me, this was a “hype” book. I love Harry Potter, but this one fell short for me. Since everyone seems to love the play when they’ve seen it, I’m hoping it’s just the format that makes it weak. Great Review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe I got it mixed up 😳 I meant the ‘like’ meaning I liked it but I wasn’t going to hype it. But maybe we’re supposed to use ‘hype’ if we thought the book was overhyped haha (which I do). Either way I agree with you! I’m happy I read it but it’s nowhere near as enjoyable as the original 7. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Nostalgia is the key word here 🙂 I loved being transported back to the wizard’s world! But I was disappointed in the plot. I was expecting something different than the same threat being used again. I liked the reference and jumping back to the past but I would have enjoyed it a lot more if it had not been included as part of the original series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree. I think I may have gotten the meaning of hype/like mixed up (oops!) but I meant to say that it didn’t live up to the hype for me. Definitely some nostalgia, but it didn’t feel all that original and not something that will stay with me like the original Harry Potter series

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I ordered the book yesterday but now I have to wait +/- 2 weeks until I have it on my hands! I’ve already read some reviews and I think I’m prepared for it: I know what to expect and I’m trying as hard as I can to keep my expectations low. I really want to like it! I’m glad you did 🙂
    Great review, btw! Just followed your blog 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome review! I’m so glad you liked the new HP book. I loved it! Sorry I’m just now getting a chance to check out your review. I’m on vacation and was boarding planes on Friday and had a crazy weekend on top of that. 🙂 It was so awesome to see these characters again. I’m really glad I decided to go with Harry Potter month because even those who didn’t enjoy it still seemed to liking seeing the characters again. I’m late posting the topics for September for Hype or Like, but I was thinking our book will be Six of Crows. I think you already read it if I remember correctly. Then I thought maybe I should do a quick poll. I’m undecided. Do you have any books in mind? I’ll post the questions to the board with the book choice to follow. Anyways, sorry for the ramble. Nice review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did enjoy it! And I agree. Even if people didn’t love it, it created a lot of nostalgia for everyone. I have read Six of Crows but that is definitely a hyped up book so it’s a good choice. A Darker Shade of Magic and This Savage Song are also very hyped..but it’s hard choosing a hyped book because I’m sure a lot of people have already read them 😁 maybe a poll would be nice to see what most of us haven’t read yet. Anyway, thanks for commenting and I hope you’re having a fun vacation!

      Like

Leave a Reply

