Teaser Tuesday #5

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat

Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!


 

Here is my teaser from Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff:

“Point is, I had no idea how safe I was, because I’d never been unsafe. Ezra said that to me once. He was right. I took it all for granted. The constant and comforting background static of the universe.”

Page 103

 

So far, all I can say about Illuminae is that it is an interactive experience reading this story. I realized that I’m not actually very used to reading science fiction, but I am definitely enjoying it! It takes a while to get into, but once you do the story is very compelling. It is also one of the most creative books I have ever read!

 

51kn2ohb8fl-_sx329_bo1204203200_“This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.
      The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than a speck at the edge of the universe. Now with enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to evacuate with a hostile warship in hot pursuit.
     But their problems are just getting started. A plague has broken out and is mutating with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a web of data to find the truth, it’s clear the only person who can help her is the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.
      Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, maps, files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.”

 

 

What are you reading?

21 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday #5”

  1. This one looks fun and not too time-consuming. Maybe I can do this one today…
    Like that you’re reading Illuminae. I know you wanted to read it. I’m a little skeptical because it’s written through varying forms of media, and I’m not sure I would like that approach…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It goes by more quickly once you get into it, when I started I was reading very slowly because I was a bit lost. I also was skeptical about the format but after ~120 pages in it started flowing better for me and I’m definitely a fan of the story. Definitely give it a try if you’re interested!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to read this, especially after reading Nevernight. I’m a Kristoff fan after reading that book. 🤗 I’m reading a ton of books. Right now I’m working on Wrecked. It comes out in October. I’m reading a James Connolly book I got from NetGalley, Throne of Glass, and an NA romance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I still have to read Nevernight. I’ve been a fan of Amie Kaufman after reading These Broken Stars but haven’t read anything from Kristoff yet. This book is definitely unique. Some pages are just pictures or text going in all kinds of directions. You should definitely get the physical copy when you read it. It’s beautiful!
      I’ve also been diving into my NetGalley queue. I thought there was no way I would get approved for books since I was so new and now I have quite the pile. Oops!
      Happy reading, can’t wait to see what you think of TOG!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t read These Broken Stars, but the cover is beautiful. That’s still on my TBR. Oh, that sounds interesting. I’ll definitely grab a paper copy of Illuminae then. Nevernight is really good. 🙂 I thought the same thing with NetGalley. I got approved for 8 books in a row and was in complete shock. Now I’m scrambling to read them all so I can request more that are coming out in October. Haha! Throne of Glass is definitely low on my list, but I’ll make my way through it. I’m supposed to write a snark of it with my friend Donna by the end of the month. That would be pretty funny if I ended up loving it. 😂

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Ahh. One of my favorite types. I just hope it’s good.
        You know, it makes me wonder (after seeing a cover like this) how any author could publish a book with some of the covers out there? You know what I mean…you’ve seen the ones that look put together by old video game designers. They are just so icky. And it’s a shame because I can’t bear to read them because the cover repels me away.
        I guess I DO judge a book by its cover. (But just books, not people!)

        Like

      3. No, I get it. If the cover turns you off, then it’s like an avoidance issue. I’ve read books with horrible covers, and I was so ready to hate them. I won’t even buy a book if the cover looks like it came out of a graphic arts class…I know it sounds snobby, but if you’re publishing your book, you have to know that people are going to be drawn in by the cover, first thing. My biggest pet peeve: bright letters that look like someone typed on the cover. Ugh. And, of course, characters that appear to be from a video game or something. I must sound like such a book snob!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

