Review: A Faerie’s Curse By Rachel Morgan (Creepy Hollow Book 6)

51yychrharl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

Image and synopsis from Amazon:

“A witch’s curse. A world-ending prophecy. A daring rescue mission. Don’t miss the heart-pounding finale to Calla’s story!
On the run from the Guild of Guardians, Calla Larkenwood and her team of fellow outlaws plan a daring rescue operation into the Seelie Court itself. As if that isn’t enough to keep them busy, the power-hungry Princess Angelica has begun preparations for a horrifying prophesied spell that will forever change both the magic and non-magic realms.

When Calla is blindsided by an unspeakable tragedy before the rescue can be carried out, she struggles to remain focused on her mission. She believes she’s reached her lowest point—until a witch reveals the final blow: she has cursed Calla’s magic. With time running out, can Calla save the one she loves and stop the prophecy from being carried out before the curse claims her life? “


thoughts

Before I even start the review, I just want to say that I absolutely adore this series. I think it is fantastic and cannot recommend it enough. A Faerie’s Curse is the final installment in the second Creepy Hollow trilogy. The first trilogy follows Vi (which is equally amazing!) and the second trilogy follows Ryn’s sister Calla a decade after the events in Vi’s story. I was hesitant at first to read this trilogy because I loved Vi’s story so much and thought I would have a hard time connecting with Calla as a narrator. I was definitely wrong. I LOVED Calla just as much as Vi and thoroughly enjoyed this trilogy. This will have spoilers from the first two books!

The story starts off right where the second ended. I hadn’t read the second in a while but Morgan provides enough background to be brought up to speed quickly. Chase has been captured by the Seelie court and Angelica is still trying to break down the veil between the faerie and human realm. I loved this book and I am sad it ended so quickly! My only complaint is that I wish we got more Calla and Chase time since he was captured at the Seelie court for a large part of the book. However, they were able to communicate through the rings so it was just enough. I loved Chase as a character. He was the one person in the first trilogy that I thought was very flat in the beginning, and WOW did his character really turn around.

Morgan does an excellent job of incorporating nonstop, exciting action while still including sweet moments between the characters we love. We still see quite a bit from Vi and Ryn as well! I don’t want to say much about the plot about the book to not give anything away, but just know that it is a stunning conclusion and all of the loose ends are tied up beautifully. If you have not read this series, please do! Morgan is also writing a new Creepy Hollow trilogy with a new main character, and I cannot wait to pick that up!

4.5/5

sig

Leave a Reply

