Review: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

the-royals-paper-princess-cover-erin-watt-elle-kennedy-jen-frederick

Blurb and image from Amazon: 

“From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone. 

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.”


 

thoughts

I picked up this book because I wanted something different than my norm of fantasy. This got some good reviews and I was hoping it would be a fun, sexy read. I was unfortunately very disappointed. Was it entertaining? Yes. Was it enjoyable? Honestly, not really. I know this book got a lot of great reviews and I really tried to love it but I just didn’t. Let me explain:

Ella starts off as this tenacious, fierce character. She’s completely on her own trying to support herself. I liked Ella. She’s tough, but she’s sensitive under that tough exterior. When Callum Royal picks up Ella and claims to be her legal guardian, I was excited to meet the Royal boys.

I don’t know how I expected them to act. I know they all come from a dysfunctional family, and I knew they would all gang up on Ella as the newcomer. So they were all jerks, that’s fine. Ella is smart and sassy and she gets her revenge on them for treating her poorly.

Then she starts crushing hard on Reed. Reed treats her the worst out of all of them, so of course she crushes on Reed. And you know what? Reed is still horrible to her. Sure he has his moments, but overall he is consistently a jerk. And what bothered me most is that Ella completely overlooked that and continued to pursue him. Where was that spunky, independent character I liked so much in the beginning?

Sure, there were some sexy scenes. There were a lot of parties and fights, and yes, it was a fun read. Although, the party scenes were quite unrealistic for high school age kids and I wasn’t a huge fan of how the Royals resorted to physical fights to solve all of their problems.

After I read the ending, I was not surprised. I am also not inclined to pick up the second book when it comes out. If you read this book, I do think you will be entertained! The writing is good and I wanted to learn about the characters. This is definitely not a bad book, I just wasn’t a huge fan on the story line. This was, unfortunately, just not my cup of tea.

2/5

sig

Leave a Reply

