Review: The Raven Boys- Maggie Stiefvater

cover_ravenboys_300

Image and blurb from Amazon:

“Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.”


Definitely not really what I was expecting but I was pleasantly surprised! I was on such a ACOMAF hangover that I wasn’t sure any book would be able to pull me out of it, but I think this is exactly what I needed. Having read Linger (and while I enjoyed it, I wasn’t a HUGE fan of it) I was not sure what to expect. One thing I noticed is that Stievater’s writing style was well suited to this mysterious psychic, power-filled ghost town. Her whimsical, lyrical writing style gave a mysterious veil to this town.

I wasn’t used to the 3rd person omniscient writing style, but also felt it was well suited because it really gave us insight into each of the characters. I also adored each of the characters! Adam- the scholarship student who is constantly trying to prove himself and dealing with home difficulties. Ronan- who has more secrets than we even begin to realize in this book, quick to anger but also a loyal friend. Noah- quiet, always around and seems to know more than he lets on. The author was very clever with him! Gansey- the rich kid who unknowingly offends with his wealth and status, but as you get to know him you realize how much he wishes people would see the ‘real’ him. And finally Blue- the odd girl with the odd name with the psychic family. I loved Blue and the boys together- they make a great team. There was no love story forced, and I liked it. It was more like Blue was figuring out how to have friends and maybe one day what love will be like.

One aspect of the book that was difficult for me to grasp was how Stiefvater described some of these “otherworldy” elements such as the ley line. She certainly focuses on it, but does not describe it in a way that allows readers to compare it to anything they know. Because of this, I often had a hard time visualizing what she was trying to tell the reader and I would get a little lost. This was remedied by the fact that her writing was beautiful and while I did not always understand the direction it was going, I enjoyed the ride.

The story itself was exciting, mysterious and I am eager to pick up the next book! One thing I really enjoyed about the story line is that it was..different. And I liked different. Different and fresh.

4/5

1 thought on “Review: The Raven Boys- Maggie Stiefvater”

Leave a Reply

