Review: The Love that Split the World- Emily Henry

25467698

Image and blurb from Amazon: 

“Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start . . . until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a preschool where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.

Then there are the visits from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her, “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.”


I’m not yet entirely sure how I feel about this book. I read it quickly, so it definitely held my attention. The writing was beautiful, as many other reviews noted. Lots of good quotes in there! Natalie is a likable character and I adored the relationship between Natalie and Megan.

I read about the insta-love between Beau and Natalie before reading the book but tried to go in with an open mind. I.. still didn’t love the insta-love. In fact, I really didn’t love Beau. Sure, they had their cute moments but overall he is not a memorable love interest for me. And to be completely honest, I’m not sure why Natalie was so drawn to him in the first place, they didn’t really have anything in common (other than the paranormal aspect of course 🙂 ). They seemed to end most of their conversations with Beau kissing Natalie, and sometimes it felt kind of inappropriate for the situation. I’m sure people will disagree with me, but that’s just my opinion! He was definitely sweet, I just didn’t love him.

After finishing the book and taking some time to mull things over, I realized that the book really wasn’t supposed to be about this epic love story. It was really about Natalie growing up and coming to terms with her adoption and heritage. It was more about Natalie and her own self-awareness rather than the relationship between Natalie and Beau. Once I looked at the book from that point of view, I appreciated it more. Not exactly what I was expecting, but still a well-written, enjoyable story. I also thoroughly enjoyed the stories the Grandmother told to Natalie. Henry tied this in nicely with the rest of the plot.

The end was a little confusing for me, but maybe the author intended for it to be open-ended and it fit with the tone in the rest of the book. Overall the book was beautifully written, had likable characters, and was really just different than anything I’ve read in a while. And it made me think at the end which is always a good thing! For me, there was something that seemed to be lacking and that held me back from naming this book a favorite. Definitely an interesting read though!

3.5/5

1 thought on “Review: The Love that Split the World- Emily Henry”

Leave a Reply

