Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses- Sarah J. Maas

77493_original

Image and blurb from Amazon: 

“Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R.R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin–one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin–and his world–forever.”


**I wanted to note that I wrote this review before reading ACOMAF! My opinion of this book has definitely changed now that I have read the sequel.**

 

thoughts

First let me preface this review by saying I am already a fan of Maas, and I LOVE her Throne of Glass series. While I enjoyed this book, I didn’t love it. There were too many little things that bothered me throughout to really love it. That being said, I definitely enjoyed it and will be looking forward to the sequel so definitely something I would still recommend for a good read.

Some things I liked:

  • Feyre: While it took her a while to grow on me, I ended up really liking Feyre. She had this admirable fierce determination about her, even when it looked 100% certain that she would fail. She was never stronger or faster than the fae, and yet she never thought twice about going after them. I like that she was really just, normal. Of course she was clever and determined to survive, but she didn’t have any special powers against all these fae that had A LOT of power.
  • The storyline: I liked the Beauty and the Beast undertones. Maas definitely made it her own story, but I do love those fairytale references:)
  • Under the Mountain: I really enjoyed the last ~30% of the book. It was very action packed and  I often had to stop myself from skipping paragraphs at a time to find out what happens next. Amarantha was a great villian!

Some things I didn’t like:

  • One of the things that really bothered me was Feyre’s relationship with Tamlin. It felt quite forced at times and it bothered me how Feyre was willing to do ANYTHING for him. Even when she finally learns about the truth of the “blight” she doesn’t think twice and wants to charge after Tamlin anyway. She seemed quite blinded by their relationship.
  • The language: Lets just say I got a little tired of Feyre’s “knees buckling” and Tamlin’s hardened chest and god-like looks.

Overall, I really did enjoy the story and I like how things ended. I will definitely be looking forward to the next book!

4/5

sig

Leave a Reply

